Union Territories and 20 states joined pan-India Single Emergency helpline Number ‘112’


To get immediate assistance to the people who are in trouble, Union territories and Twenty states have joined in a pan-India network of single emergency helpline number ‘112’,which is implemented by central government’s Nirbhaya Fund( 2012 Delhi gangrape case).

Kerala, Uttarakhand, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh,Andhra Pradesh, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Rajasthan,  Puducherry, Tamil Nadu, Nagaland, Gujarat,Telangana,Lakshadweep,Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Dadar and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu,Jammu and Kashmir are the joined states ad UTs.

Police (100),women(1090) and fire(101) helpline numbers are amalgamated in this and is similar to ‘911’ in US. When a person activate the panic button on the mobile,it will trigger an emergency call to 112.Emergency response Centre (ERC) can recieve panic call via voice call to 112,the ‘112’ mobile app or email requests on state ERSS website.A long press of the ‘5’ or ‘9’ key will activate the panic call in normal case.

The location of the victim is understood by using GPS.To send a panic call to the Emergency Response Centre, a person can  press the power key of a smart phone three times quickly. A total of Rs 321.69 crore has been assigned for this project, out of which Rs 278.66 crore has already been issued to the States and the UTs from the Nirbhaya Fund.