Services won Santosh Trophy-2019 title


The Services team emerged as winner of the 2019 Santosh Trophy. Services secured the title with Bikash Thapa’s 61st-minute strike that decided the contest. Services beat Punjab the last time these two teams met in the final of this tournament, securing the trophy in 2014-15 with a 5-4 shootout victory.

  • Santosh Trophy is an Indian football tournament in which the states of the country along with some government institutions participate. This is held annually since 1941. Bengal was the first winner of the competition held in 1941. The trophy is named after the late Maharaja Sir Manmatha Nath Roy Chowdhary of Santosh, now in Bangladesh.
  • The Santosh Trophy was started in 1941 after the then president of the Indian Football Association, West Bengal’s football association, Sir Manmatha Nath Roy Chowdhary of Santosh, donated the trophy.
  • The first edition of the Santosh Trophy was held in Delhi and won by Bengal who defeated the hosts 5-1 in the final. Last season it was held in Jammu and Kashmir and won by Punjab who defeated Services 1-0 in the final.
  • Bengal has won the competition a record 29 times and has been finished runner up 11 times, which is also a record.