Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowships Awards for 2018 announced


Sangeet Natak Akademi, the National Academy of Music, Dance and Drama, has elected 4 eminent personalities in field of Performing Arts namely tabla virtuoso Zakir Hussain, dancer Sonal Mansingh, dancer and choreographer Jatin Goswami and Bharatnatyam exponent K. Kalyanasundaram Pillai for the prestigious Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellows or Akademi Ratna Awards for 2018.

  • The General Council of Sangeet Natak Akademi at its meeting held on 26 June 2019 at Guwahati, Assam unanimously elected 4 eminent personalities.
  • Akademi’s General Council also selected 44 artistes from field of Music, Dance, Theatre across Traditional, Folk, And Tribal Genres, Puppetry and overall contribution/scholarship to the performing arts for Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards or Akademi Puraskar for 2018.
  • Sangeet Natak Akademi Award has been conferred since 1952 and is the highest Indian recognition given to practicing artists. These honours not only symbolize highest standard of excellence and achievements, but also recognize sustained individual work and contribution. The awards will be conferred by President of India at a special investiture ceremony.