RedInk Award for ‘Journalist of the Year 2019’


Rachna Khaira of The Tribune News Service won RedInk Award for ‘Journalist of the Year 2019’. The award was bestowed for her expose on the functioning of the Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI) and its Aadhaar data cache in 2018.

  • The article was published in The Tribune edition dated January 4, 2018, and the leads provided in the article became a part of Public Interest Litigation (PIL).
  • At present, Khaira works for The Huffington Post.
  • The RedInk Awards for Excellence in Journalism, founded by The Mumbai Press Club in 2010, awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award for 2019 jointly to two retired senior journalists, Dinu Ranadive (aged 94) who retired from the Maharashtra Times, and photojournalist Sebastian D’Souza, who had served as photo editor of Mumbai Mirror.
  • The RedInk ‘Star Mumbai Reporter’ award for 2019 was given to Mid-Day reporter Ranjeet Jadhav.