PV Sindhu won maiden BWF World Tour Title


PV Sindhu, the 2016 Rio Olympic silver medallist, created history as she became the first Indian to win the BWF World Tour Finals. She defeated Japan’s Nozomi Okuhara, the 2017 world champion, by 21-19 21-17 in the final match that lasted for an hour and two minutes.

The BWF World Tour Finals is an annual badminton competition that takes place at the end of every year. The badminton players having most points from all the events of the BWF World Tour in that calendar year compete with each other in this tournament.

It was held from 12th to 16th December 2018 in Tianhe, Guangzhou, China. The total prize of the tournament was USD 1,500,000. Shi Yuqi of China won the Men’s Singles title defeating Kento Momota of Japan by 21-12, 21-11.

This win was Sindhu’s  14th title in her career but it was the first title for her in 2018. P V Sindhu won the silver medal at the World Championships 2018, Thailand Open 2018, Asian Games 2018, Commonwealth Games 2018 and India Open held this year.