Press Council of India reconstituted


The Union Government on May 31, 2018 reconstituted the Press Council of India (PCI) for a three-year term. However, the names under medium newspaper category have not been declared yet as the matter related to it is sub-judice.

Members of the reconstituted PCI :

On March 16, 2018, the government notified the names of eight nominated members of the reconstituted PCI. 

• Parliamentarians nominated to the new body were Meenakshi Lekhi, TG Venkatesh Babu, Prathap Simha, Vinay P Sahasrabuddhe and Swapan Dasgupta.

• Uttam Chandra Sharma, Pravat Kumar Dash, K Sreenivasarao, Meenakshi Lekhi and Chhayakanta Nayak were nominated for the second term in the revamped PCI.

• Members nominated to the PCI from different organisations were Sushma Yadav from the UGC, Manan Kumar Mishra from the Bar Council of India and K Sreenivasarao from the Sahitya Akademi. 

• Later on May 22, 2018, former Supreme Court judge CK Prasad was appointed as the Chairman of the PCI for a second term. 

Press Council of India :

  • The Press Council of India was first set up in 1966 by the Parliament on the recommendations of the First Press Commission with the object of preserving the freedom of the press.
  • It is a statutory body with a mandate to act as a watchdog to oversee the conduct of the print media.
  • Currently, it derives its mandate from Press Council Act, 1978.
  • According to the Press Council Act, 1978, the council shall consist of a chairman and 28 other members.
  • Its chairman, by convention, shall be a retired judge of the Supreme Court.
  • Of 28 other members, 20 are nominated from the press and 5 members are nominated from the two Houses of Parliament and 3 represent cultural, literary and legal fields as nominees of the Sahitya Akademi, University Grants Commission and the Bar Council of India.
  • Most recently, the council was reconstituted for three years in October 2014 and its term ended in October 2017.