Prasar Bharati will introduce 2 awards in honor of Neelum Sharma


India’s largest public broadcasting agency, Prasar Bharti’s Chairman A Suryapakash stated that the agency will introduce 2 awards namely ‘Neelum Sharma Tejaswini award’ & ‘Achyutananda Sahoo Award’ in memory of Doordarshan(DD) News Former anchor, Neelum Sharma who passed away due to cancer on August 17, 2019.

Sharma, a strong advocate for women empowerment started her career in Doordarshan in 1995 and was associated with the channel for over 20 years. She was known for her programmes like ‘Tejaswini’(Through this show, she focused on woman achievers of India) and ‘Badi Charcha’. She was awarded the 2018 ‘Nari Shakti Puraskar’(Highest civilian award for women in India) by the President of India Ram Nath Govind.

Prasar Bharati is India’s largest public broadcasting agency. It is a statutory autonomous body set up by an Act of Parliament and comprises the DoordarshanTelevision Network and All India Radio, which were earlier media units of the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting. The Parliament of India passed the Prasar Bharati Act to grant this autonomy in 1990, but it was not enacted until 15 September 1997.