Odia writer Pradeep Dash won 40th Sarala Puraskar award for 2019


Noted Odia poet Pradeep Dash was selected for the 40th edition of 2019 Sarala Puraskar award for his poetry work Charu Chibar O Charjya. The award which is the foremost literary honour in Odisha comprises of a citation with a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh and will be presented on October 26, 2019, by the governor of Odisha Shri Ganeshi Lal.

Apart from Pradeep, two more notable personalities namely Pandit Harmohan Khuntia and Lalat Mohan Patnaik will be honoured for their contribution in the field of music and art. While Harmohan would be honoured with ‘Ila Panda Sangeet Samman’, Lalat would be honoured with ‘Ila Panda Chitrakala Samman’, each with a cash prize of Rs 1,50,000 and citations.

This award is instituted in 1979 by Odia industrialist Late Bansidhar Panda and Late Ila Panda and is awarded by Indian Metals Public Charitable Trust (IMPaCT) which is the charitable wing of Indian Metals & Ferro Alloys Limited (IMFA Ltd). IMPaCT also felicitates Ekalabya Puraskar for sports talents of Odisha.