Nobel Peace Prize 2018


The Norwegian Nobel Committee awarded the 2018 Nobel Peace Prize to Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad “for their efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war and armed conflict”.Both Mukwege and Murad made a crucial contribution to focus attention on combating war crimes. Both of them have helped to give greater visibility to war-time sexual violence, so that the perpetrators can be held accountable for their actions.

Denis Mukwege :

• Denis Mukwege, a physician, has spent large parts of his adult life helping the victims of sexual violence in the Democratic Republic of Congo. 

• Mukwege and his staff have treated thousands of patients who have fallen victim to such assaults. Most of the abuses were committed in the context of a long-lasting civil war that has cost the lives of more than six million Congolese.

Nadia Murad :

• Nadia Murad is a member of the Yazidi minority in northern Iraq, where she lived with her family in the village of Kocho. 

• Nadia Murad is one of the 3000 Yazidi girls and women who were victims of rape and other abuses by the Islamic State (IS) army. The IS army launched a brutal attack on the villages of the Sinjar district to decimate the Yazidi population in August 2014. 

• The abuses were systematic and part of a military strategy. They served as a weapon in the fight against Yazidis and other religious minorities.