Niwari announced as 52nd district of Madya Pradesh


Madhya Pradesh Government has announced creation of a new district- Niwari. It will be the 52nd district of the state and will come into effect from October 1, 2018.
The proposal to this effect was cleared by state Cabinet chaired by Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan.

  • Niwari district has been carved out of the Tikamgarh district.
  • It will include three tehsils of present Tikamgarh district viz. Niwari, Orchha and Prithvipur.
  • IAS officer Akshay Kumar Singh (2010 Batch) will hold interim charge as the first District Collector of the new district.
  • The decision of forming a new district comes ahead of Madhya Pradesh assembly elections, which are scheduled to be held by year end.