National Geoscience Awards 2018


Twenty-two scientists across the country were awarded the National Geoscience Awards for the year 2018. They were awarded for their outstanding contributions in the field of geosciences, mining and allied areas. The award was conferred by the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, Coal and Mines, Shri Pralhad Joshi.

  • The awards were given in 10 disciplines covering the areas such as Mineral exploration, Groundwater exploration, mining technology, Mineral beneficiation, Sustainable mineral development, Basic and applied geosciences, Geo-environmental studies and Natural hazards investigation.
  • The geoscientific community were called upon to bring up with innovative ideas in finding mineral resources due to its rising demand. The aim of increasing the mineral production by 200% in 7 years through National Mineral Policy 2019 was discussed.
  • Through the National Aero-geophysical Mapping Program covering 27 lakh line km of Obvious Geological Potential by the GSI (Geological Survey of India) the mineral potential zones are expected to be identified to lead the auctionable mineral blocks. The GSI has doubled its exploring activity with 400 mineral projects in the current field season.
  • Mines secretary Anil Mukhim, Shri S. N. Meshram, Director General(DG) of GSI, and other officials were present in the event.
  • The award was first initiated in the year 1966 by the ministry of mines and has   awarded over 820 geoscientists and engineers till date.