Mumbai and Hyderabad received UNESCO Designation


UNESCO has designated Mumbai as a member of UNESCO Creative Cities Network (UCCN) in the field of FILM and Hyderabad in the field of GASTRONOMY.

  • UNESCO Creative Cities Network (UCCN) was created in 2004 and represents a network of cities that are active centres of cultural activities in their respective countries.
  • Presently, there are total 246 cities inducted into UCCN around the world.
  • The objective of including cities into UCCN is to place creativity and the creative economy at the core of their urban development plans.
  • The 7 categories for recognition under UCCN are as follows-
    1. Gastronomy
    2. Music
    3. Media Arts
    4. Literature
    5. Crafts and Folk Arts
    6. Design
    7. Film
  • Earlier, 3 Indian cities were recognized as members of UCCN:
    1. Jaipur-Crafts and Folk Arts(2015)
    2. Varanasi-Creative city of Music (2015)
    3. Chennai-Creative city of Music(2017)