MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup


Indian Oil Corporation (IOC) emerge champion in the 93rd All-India MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup hockey tournament by defeating Punjab National Bank (PNB) with 3-1 in final held at Chennai, Tamil Nadu. Murugappa Group Chairman M M Murugappan gave away trophy to the winning team.

IOC, the defending champion of the season, after a goalless first quarter managed to open its account in 23rd minute when Gurjinder Singh beat rival goalkeeper from a penalty corner.

Gurjinder Singh handed IOC a 2-0 advantage 15 minutes later, converting another penalty corner. PNB scored 1 goal in 44th minute when Vishal Antil slammed home from a penalty corner. Later in the 59th minute of the tournamnet Veteran Deepak Thakur scored the final goal of the game.

MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup hockey :

It is the 2nd oldest hockey tournament in country after Beighton Cup in Kolkata. As the domestic tournament is in its 93rd edition it showcases a rich legacy as it has been a breeding ground for some of Indian hockey’s most celebrated stars. The 93rd All India MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup Hockey tournament was held from 29 August to 8 September at Mayor Radhakrishnan Stadium in Egmore, Chennai.