Kapil Dev honoured with Bharat Gaurav Award


East Bengal club will officially start the centenary celebrations on its foundation day with a glittering ceremony at the Netaji Indoor Stadium.

East Bengal club will be awarded India’s first cricket World Cup-winning captain Kapil Dev with its highest honour, Bharat Gaurav. Kapil is no stranger to football as he had donned the club’s colours in an exhibition match against Mohun Bagan in 1992.

Former India captains Manoranjan Bhattacharya and Bhaskar Ganguly will be honoured with lifetime achievement award. Iconic footballer P.K. Banerjee will be conferred with the ‘Coach of Coaches’ award.

Kapil had signed for East Bengal on June 22, 1992, and played for 27 minutes six days later as a substitute forward in an exhibition match against arch-rivals Mohun Bagan.