Intra-state e-way bill will be rolled out in 5 states


The e-way Bill system for intra-state movement of goods will be implemented from April 15 in five states. According to the GST Council, the five states are Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat, Kerala, Telengana and Uttar Pradesh.

i. Five states in which Intra-State E-way bill will be rolled out from April 15, 2018 are Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Gujarat, Kerala and Uttar Pradesh.
ii. Karnataka is the only state which had rolled out Intra-State E-way bill system from April 1, 2018.
iii. In March 2018, Goods and Services Tax (GST) council had decided that Intra-State E-Way bill will be rolled out in a phased manner but not later than June 1, 2018.
iv. In context of this news, it is important to note that E-way bill system for moving goods worth over Rs 50000 from one state to another has already been rolled out since April 1, 2018.
v. E-way bill provision of the GST is an anti-evasion measure which would help in increasing tax collections by curbing trade that is being undertaken on cash basis.