Indian women’s hockey team wins 2017 Asia Cup title


Indian women’s hockey team won the 2017 Asia Cup hockey title. In the final match held at Kakamigahara in Japan, India defeated China by 5-4 goals in penalty shootout. With this victory, India qualified for 2018 World Cup and women’s hockey team win closely follows victory of men’s side in October . It was India’s second Women’s Asia Cup title and first one was won in 2004.

In regular time interval, both Indian and Chinese team had equalled by scoring one goal each. For India it was scored by Navjot Kaur (25th minute) and for China it was scored by Tiantian Luo (47th minute). In the penalty shootout, Rani scored twice while Monica, Lilima Minz and Navjot scored a goal each for India. Monika Malik won Woman of Match award, Savita Punia was adjudged Goalkeeper of the Tournament. South Korea secured third place in 2017 Asia Cup hockey title with a 1-0 win over Japan.