Foundation day for 6 states and 3 UTs


6 states and 3 UTs are celebrating their formation day on 1st November 2019. States of Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Punjab and Haryana are celebrating their formation day on 1st Nov.

  • Union Territories of Lakshwadeep, Puducherry, Andaman and Nicobar also have their Foundation Days on 1st Nov.
  • The French possessions in India were de facto transferred to the Indian Union on November 1, in 1954 and became a Union Territory.
  • All Kannada speaking regions were merged to form Karnataka on 1st November 1956.
  • The state of Kerala was created on November 1, 1956.
  • In 1963, Puducherry officially became an integral part of India.
  • Haryana was carved out of the former state of East Punjab on Nov 1, 1966.
  • The state of Chhattisgarh was carved out of the state of Madhya Pradesh on Nov 1, 2000.