Feroz Shah Kotla to be renamed as Arun Jaitley Stadium


Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium in Delhi will be renamed as Arun Jaitley Stadium in the memory of former DDCA President. The decision was announced by the DDCA (Delhi and District Cricket Association) on August 27, 2019.

  • The DDCA decided to rename the stadium after the former DDCA president, Arun Jaitley, who breathed his last on August 24, 2019. Speaking on the same, current DDCA president Rajat Sharma said, “What can be better to have it named after the man who got it rebuilt under his presidentship. 
  • The DDCA President clarified that the Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium will be renamed as Arun Jaitley Stadium, the ground will, however, continue to be called the Feroz Shah Kotla. Feroz Shah Kotla will be officially renamed as Arun Jaitley Stadium on September 12 at a function. During the function, a stand at the Kotla will be named after India captain Virat Kohli in honour of his achievements.
  • Arun Jaitley had served as the President of DDCA from 1999 to 2013. During his term, Arun Jaitley is credited with major transformations at the Feroz Shah Kotla. It was under Jaitley’s term that the renovation of the stadium to transform it into a modern facility was initiated. The stadium’s capacity was also increased at the time to ensure more fans can be accommodated.