Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa to form new government in Bhutan


The Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) will form new government in Bhutan. The party has won 30 seats in 47 member National Assembly, the lower house of the parliament. The Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) has got remaining 17 seats. The Election Commission of Bhutan has formally announced the results of the parliamentary elections.

According to the commission, 71.46% polling was recorded in the third general election. This is the first time in Bhutan’s decade old parliamentary democracy that a new party has been chosen to form the government. 

The Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa is one of the five registered political parties in Bhutan. It was registered on 20 January 2013. In the primary round of the 2nd National Assembly elections held in 2013, the DNT had 35,962 votes and came third place, and so could not take part in the final round.