Dharmendra to receive Raj Kapoor Lifetime Achievement award


Veteran actor Dharmendra will be conferred Raj Kapoor Lifetime Achievement by Maharashtra State Government.

i. Along with Dharmendra, Director Rajkumar Hirani will get the Raj Kapoor Special Contributions Award, veteran Marathi actor Vijay Chavhan will get Chitrapati V Shantaram Jivangaurav Puraskar (Lifetime Achievement Award) and actress-director Mrinal Kulkarni will get Chitrapati V Shantaram Vishesh Yogdaan Puraskar (Special Contributions Award).
ii. Announcement in this regard was made by Maharashtra Education and Cultural Affairs Minister Vinod Tawde on April 15, 2018.
iii. 82-year old Dharmendra has earned himself the sobriquet of “He-Man”. “Sholay”, “Chupke Chupke”, “Yaadon Ki Baaraat”, “Satyakam” and “Seeta Aur Geeta” are some of the popular movies in which he played the lead role.
iv. These awards were instituted by Maharashtra State Government. Both the lifetime achievement awards carry a citation and cash reward of Rs 500000 while the special contribution awards carry a citation and Rs 300000 cash prize each.
v. The awards will be given away at the 55th Maharashtra State Marathi Film Festival.