Chhatra Vishwakarma, Sansad Adarsh Gram Yojana awards


Indian Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu presented the second Chhatra Vishwakarma Awards to students and their mentors and Sansad Adarsh Gram Yojana (SAGY) awards to institutions at an event organised by the All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) at New Delhi.

Chhatra Vishwakarma Awards :

The Chhatra Vishwakarma Awards are inspired by the spirit of engineering and creation patronised by Lord Vishwakarma, the ruling deity of construction practices in India. The awards aim to motivate young individuals, inspire leaders and institutions and organisations to recognise and applaud the innovations and achievements of individuals as well as institutions.

Sansad Adarsh Gram Yojana (SAGY) Awards :

The awards were launched in October 2014 with the aim to translate the comprehensive vision of Mahatma Gandhi of an ideal Indian village.
Under the scheme, the members of the Parliament adopted Gram Panchayats for their holistic progress.  The AICTE also encouraged institutes located in the proximity of villages to support them under the scheme. These institutes have been working hard to develop the adopted villages. 

The SAGY award was constituted with an aim to motivate, recognise and honor such institutions under the theme “developed village-developed nation” to raise their performance in the specific domains leading to significant contribution for the growth and development of villages and country as well.