Australian Open 2018


The 2018 Australian Open was a tennis tournament played at Melbourne Park between 15–28 January 2018. It was the first Grand Slam tournament of the 2018 season. The tournament was the 106th edition of the Australian Open of all-time and 50th edition of the tournament in the Open Era. Additionally, it was the 200th Grand Slam event of the Open Era. It marked the 30th anniversary of the Australian Open moving from the Kooyong Tennis Club to Melbourne Park.

  • It was first held in the year 1905 and is chronologically the first of the four Grand Slam tennis events of the year.
  • The other three Grand Slams are the French Open, Wimbledon and the US Open.
  • The tournament is conducted by the ITF (International Tennis Federation).
  • Roger Federer was the defending champion who managed to defend his title by defeating Marin Cilic in the final.
  • Caroline Wozniacki became the first Danish player to win a Grand Slam singles title.

List of Winners

S. No. Category Winner Runner Up
1. Men’s Singles Roger Federer Marin Cilic
2. Women’s Singles Caroline Wozniacki Simona Halep
3. Men’s Doubles Oliver Marach Mate Pavic Robert Farah J. Cabal
4. Women’s Doubles Kristina Mladenovic Timea Babos Elena Vesnina & Ekaterina Makarova
5. Mixed Doubles Gabriela Dabrowski Mate Pavic Timea Babos Rohan Bopanna