Atish Dabholkar appointed as the new director of ICTP


Atish Dabholkar, a theoretical physicist from India, has been appointed as the new director of Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) in Trieste, Italy. He will succeed Fernando Quevedo, who has led the centre since 2009.

  • He is currently the head of ICTP’s high energy, cosmology and astroparticle physics section. He joined ICTP in 2014 on secondment from Sorbonne Université and the National Center for Scientific Research, where he has been a research director since 2007.
  • Born in 1963, Dabholkar earned his Masters in Physics from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur in 1985 and his Ph. D. in theoretical physics from Princeton University in 1990 followed by postdoctoral and research positions at Rutgers University, Harvard University, and California Institute of Technology.
  • He was also a professor at Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (Mumbai), is well-known for his research on string theory and quantum black holes.
  • He has been conferred with awards including India’s coveted ‘Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award’ (2006), a most prestigious national science prize awarded by Prime Minister, ANR(National Research Agency) Chaire d’Excellence (2007)award and National Leadership Award (2008).

International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) :

The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) is an international research institute for physical and mathematical sciences that operates under a tripartite agreement between the Italian Government, United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), and International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA). It is located near the Miramare Park, about 10 kilometres from the city of Trieste, Italy. The centre was founded in 1964 by Pakistani Nobel Laureate Abdus Salam.