AK Chaudhary , New chairman of SAIL


Anil Kumar Chaudhary, now director finance st SAIL, has been chosen by the Public Enterprises Selection Board (PESB) to steer the company as its chairman. Subject to the approval from the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet, Chaudhary will replace incumbent Prakash Kumar Singh, who is scheduled to retire on June 30 this year.

Chaudhary’s term will start as SAIL has just returned into profitability after 10 consecutive quarters.

The PESB interviewed five senior PSU officials for the top job of the company. The aspirants include two directors from the SAIL board. Apart from Choudhary, SAIL’s director commercial Soma Mandal; its executive director (commercial) Alok Sahay; Nalin Shinghal, chairman-cum-managing director, central electronics; and MOIL’s commercial director TK Pattnaik were in the fray.

Chaudhary has been holding the current post since September 1, 2011. Prior to this, he was posted in SAIL’s Bokaro unit as its ED (finance and accounts).